“We’ve never had that kind of hate displayed to us before.”- SunServe Current Event Blog

Okay let me first say something before I start. If you are going to take my money in a restaurant, I do expect to be served and treated fairly. I say this because, Collin Dewberry and Kelly Williams say they have lived in Pittsburg, Texas their entire lives and have never been called “fag” before. However, this week they claimed that they received discriminatory treatment at a local restaurant.

It seems that after they enjoyed their meal, a waitress informed them that they could “never return” because they ” don’t serve fags.” Pretty messed up right? Dewberry stated that,” We’ve never had that kind of hate displayed to us before.” I’m sorry that you had to experience the stupid behavior of some people guys.

If that wasn’t bad enough, the restaurant’s owner confirmed, to saying this. Some nerve this guy has. He deliberately pointed to the sign at the entrence of the restaurant.  It reads: “Here at Big Earl’s we like for men to act like men and for ladies to act like ladies, so we want you to never return.” I cannot believe that in 2014, things like this still happen.

big-earls-0514 texas-discrimination-gays-big-earls-360x234

Now here is something that I should have shared from the begining. It seems that the waitress that hurled the gay slurs was, guess what, the owners Daughter. Yes, his daughter. Can I say that I am not surprised. Not only that, but he defended her use of the word “fag” because apparently Dewberry and Williams were antagonizing her and, get this, “having sex under the table”.  What a load of lies. I wish I was in Texas right now, just so that I can go over there and protest this restaurant.

If you would like to read more here is the link.
http://www.queerty.com/texas-restaurant-tells-gay-couple-they-dont-serve-fags-after-taking-their-money-20140529

This blog was written by Kayla, a 20 year old member of our Fort Lauderdale Youth Group.

This group meets every Tuesday from 7:00 PM until 9:00 PM.

SunServe Youth Campus

1480 SW 9th Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, FL, 2nd Floor

Leave a Reply

