Your dream prom…a reality?

rainbowmasuerade

You’ve been seeing our posts, buying your tickets, and totally freaking out about prom…IT’S ALMOST HERE! With only two weeks to go, prom is just around the corner. So what better a topic at group than your dream prom? Exciting right? Just wait until you hear some of these answers!

So Tuesday night rolls around and we pile onto the couches as always and we huddled up and started chit-chatting. (Who comes up with these words?) So we go through the rules and guidelines of youth group and Richard asks us, “What is your dream prom?” There was no blank look in the room. Everyone knew exactly what they wanted to say, and everyone wanted to say something.

“PICK ME PICK ME PICK ME PLEASE PICK ME!” One youth shouted.

“My dream prom is simple. Have a beautiful date, look great in my tux, because who doesn’t love a girl in a tux, and dance until our feet hurt. At the end of the night, I kiss her goodbye, and everything is perfect.” The person to the right of the youth went next.

“Honestly, reverse that to make it two guys, and you got my dream prom. I just want to go with someone who loves me and who I love. I know that as long as I have a good person to go with, it’ll be perfect.”

There were a lot of agreeing with the two statements; those were just the broad ones though. One youth went into full detail.

“I want my prom to be fairy tale themed. I want my prince in a black tuxedo to pick me up in a limo. I want to be introduced like a princess when I get there, and I must win Prom Queen. It’s a dream of mine, you know? I want to dance with the person who wins Prom King, and most of all, I just want to be happy.”

A few youth loved it, others just ‘oohed’ and ‘awed’ at the lovely idea. The last sentence though, sparked a nerve in a few of us.

“I just want to go to prom and not get bullied for what I wear or who I’m with.”

“Yeah I wish it was like that everyday.”

Our facilitator chirped up and assured us all that the topic of bullying would be handled next week. We wanted to keep this week about prom and focus on the most positive things we could think of.

So now we wait. We wait for Tuesday to share our personal stories. We wait for prom. We wait and we wait and we build up the excitement and before you know it, it’s time!

See you all next week and DON’T FORGET TO BUY YOUR PROM TICKETS IN ADVANCE! http://www.regonline.com/Register/Checkin.aspx?EventID=1208959

image001

One response to “Your dream prom…a reality?

  1. Pingback: Tales from Three Cities | The Chaotic Soul·

Leave a Reply

